Away for Work

Haven’t done too well on this blogging lark so far have I?? I put it down to the fact I’ve been away for work so much over the last 6 months or so.

And there’s the thing, I go away for work a lot. It was a big part of the attraction of the job when I first went for it, getting paid to go around European cities and push buttons, sounded great. In theory it is, in the last three years I’ve been to (in no particular order): Oslo, Paris, Milan, Turin, Bratislava, Budapest, Tirana, Skopje, Bucharest, Vienna, Glasgow,  Istanbul, Copenhagen, Malmö, Dublin, Galway, Edinburgh, a couple of places in Holland, all over northern England and I’m sure there are other exciting and exotic places I’ve forgotten, but on the downside I have also had to go to places like Salford, Rugby, Bradford, Preston and Crewe.

So it’s not quite the jet-set and glamorous lifestyle people think it might be. Yes I’ve been lucky enough to go to some amazing places and got paid for it but generally all I see is airport, hotel, office, hotel, airport, which is why I forget where I’ve been. Very rarely do I get to have a wander around and explore somewhere properly, especially as a lot of the time (particularly in the UK) I’m working and staying in an industrial estate on the outskirts of a city rather than the fun part in the middle.

I suppose you could say I’m well travelled but I haven’t seen much. I have got a list of places I’d like to go back to for a long weekend and enjoy, with the added bonus that I know my way around a bit and know a few decent restaurants and bars to go in.  I’ve got some adventures I can tell people about from it all and it gives me an opportunity to indulge in my photography habit so I can’t complain too loudly, I knew it was part of the job when I signed up and I still enjoy it. Once the travel becomes a burden more than a blessing it’ll be time to think about what I’m doing but until then I’ll still be spending a lot of time rolling up the M1 or sitting in airports.

Leave a Reply

