101 in 1001

Ok, so I first mentioned this in my first post this year and now I’ve finally finished the list I’ve put it up here.

The idea behind this one (inspired by my friend Emma’s own list) is pretty simple and can be found over at the DayZeroProject, but essentially it’s this:

The Challenge:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on your part).

I don’t normally need much incentive to go and do something I want to do. If an idea pops into my head I generally research the hows, wheres, and how much? side of things and go and do it, (just last night a friend of mine said “You’re a bit of a do-er aren’t you Mart?” which, after some initial sexual confusion, led to a conversation about shark diving), but after looking through the site it seemed like a good way of actually organising all of the things I have on my internal ‘To-Do’ list.

I was surprised at how hard it was to come up with 101 things to do, but then I have a tendency to think big when it comes to stuff like this. I had a look through some of the other lists on the site and realised I could put things on there that were pretty mundane but were things I just never got round to doing. Usually stuff around the house that I keep walking past and thinking “I must sort that out” so not all of them are going to be high adventures although I’m sure I’ll get a blog entry or two out of it.

I’m planning on putting a brief explanation on each item as to why I want to do it and what happened when each task is completed, just because I think there might be some entertainment and information value in it. The whole project is due to finish on 11th September, 2013, which just so happens to be the day after my 36th birthday so getting everything done would be a nice little present to myself.

Leave a Reply

